Learning Portfolio Week 11

Learning Portfolio Two

Question One

In our age of contemporary modernity innovation is important as it never has been before. Technology, design, art and business are at new heights within each respective area, only innovation can further improve and transform society and the way we live in it. The benefits of technology are profound, its negatives more so. Daniel Pink, cited in Reynolds (2008, p.14), states that we are at a stage in our society where those who “…think different…” are required more than ever.

All individuals are different in how they, and their brain, functions and operates. Pink asserts that now, more than ever, right minded people are essential to business and innovation. The right hemisphere reasoning is required in today’s conceptual age, as those who are more dominated by their right hemisphere have the more of an aptitude for visual and spatial skills (S Gordon, J Johnson, 2002). Pink makes reference to six right brain directed skills, aptitudes necessary for professionals wishing to succeed.

Design

  • Should not be considered an ‘afterthought’ 
  • Starts from the beginning 
  • Not just decoration 
  • In terms of presentation design: 
  • Tailor the design to the topic 
  • Avoid simply ‘tacking on’ images, incorporate them into the discussion 

Story

  • Facts can be relayed over and over – avoid this 
  • Add your own personal touch to your information 
  • Eliminate all irrelevant information [1] 
  • Try and incorporate personal past experiences into your information 
  • Offer advice! 

 

Symphony

  •  lluminate your information 
  • Reveal patterns previously not recognised 
  • Try and place everything into a wider spectrum 
  • Adress all aspects of this ‘wider spectrum’
  • Avoid simplifying a presentation – this will ruin the meaning behind  it
  • Find what most important and highlight it within the presentation 

 

Empathy

  • Imagine yourself in the position of your audience 
  • In your mind, watch yourself 
  • Be attentive towards your audience – see whether or not they  understand your presentation 
  • Remember all things in moderation – attentiveness is not unconditional  it is relative to time so be aware of how long you are taking

 Play

  • Present in good humour – seriousness doesn’t mean the   elimination of humour
  • Presentations will benefit from an injection of humour
  •  Humour boosts morale and increases creativeness – even if it is a business presentation a joke can’t go astray, your audience and presentation will only benefit from it.

Meaning

  •  A presentation means that people have gathered to listen – use this opportunity to make an impact however small on your audience
  • Even if it is only to show them that not all presentations are boring
  • Don’t waste an opportunity to show passion, knowledge and self-expression

  Question Two

Globalisation is a current, perhaps overlooked, important issue in contemporary society. My presentation was on globalisation, a topic of genuine interest to myself.  I think the fact that I enjoyed learning more about globalisation and its effects really impacted on my presentation. Not all of the six ‘right-brain’ aptitudes were employed in my design. However, some were met.

 Picture 11

This first slide is, in my opinion, a strong opening slide. It clearly describes the presentation whilst the overall design and feel to the slide fits well to the topic of globalisation. I believe the aptitude of design was well met, the design of the presentation strongly relates to globalisation and the take I took on it. The visuals support the written content quite well, and are seamlessly (perhaps not in all, but definitely in slide one) worked into the design.

Story – an aptitude I don’t think is really within my presentation. Having learnt of the six aptitudes, story is one I think I’ll strive to include in further presentations as it is an idea I haven’t ever come across. Now looking over my design I regret the lack of personal experience within my presentation – especially in light of the fact that I am lucky enough to have visited places of both the top end and bottom end of globalisation.

 Picture 13

Symphony is only slightly present within my design. The ‘wider picture’ is depicted within the presentation however there needed to a slide included regarding what the benefiters of globalisation are morally obligated to do to help those who suffer as a result of globalisation.

 

Similarly I could have injected more empathy into the presentation. It’s not that I wasn’t empathetic but, with the inclusion of my personal experiences, I believe I could have demonstrated this emotion a lot more. Despite this the meaning of the presentation was not lost, in my opinion. I believe I showed globalisation and what it meant for all different types of people, but, with the inclusion of the absent aptitudes this one too could have benefited.

The aptitude of humour – doesn’t exist within my presentation. Not even a glimmer. Having looked over the aptitudes in relation to my design the possibilities of improvement were endless however the inclusion of humour into a serious topic such is globalisation seems somewhat daunting.

Nonetheless the six aptitudes were enlightening – and exciting as they brought on a stream of ideas on how to improve within design.

Activity

Having analysed the six right brain aptitudes in relation to my presentation design, I sought to apply the missing aptitudes where applicable.

Chiefly I wanted to improve on story, symphony and empathy.

Picture 1

I did not change my first, second or third slides as I believe they were good as is.

Picture 2

Picture 3

Picture 4

Picture 5

Picture 6

Picture 7

Here I added in a personal recount, giving the presentation ‘story’. This adds more depth to the presentation and enables people to relate more to the issues of globalisation as they can relate to me and my own personal accounts.

Picture 8

In my conclusion, to show a little more empathy and symphony, I talked more of what the privileged minority can do to help all those displaced or at a  disadvantage due to globalisation and its effects.

Picture 9

Picture 10

 

 

 

References

Reynolds, G. (2008). Presentations in “The Conceptual Age”. In Presentation Zen: Simple Ideas on Presentation Design and Delivery (pp. 14‐19). Berkeley, CA: New Riders.

[1] Werner, K. (2005). Principles for presentation design. Retrieved May 27, 2009, from The Training Designer’s Weblog: http://www.trainingdesign.be/2008/04/04/ten-principles-for-evidence-based-presentation-design/

Attorney Gordon S. Johnson, J. (2002). About Brain Injury:A Guide to Brain Anatomy, Function and Symptoms. Retrieved May 28, 2009, from Brain Function and Anatomy: http://www.waiting.com/brainfunction.html

~ by 2gracie on June 2, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
